For a Free Consultation call770-838-7829

Georgia “Implied Consent” and DUI Penalties

Georgia is one of many states that carries “implied consent” laws in regard to DUI.  Refusal to submit to a breathalyzer test qualifies you for an automatic license suspension and other fines.  Consequences for a refused test vary based on the offense:
·         First offense : 1 year suspension of license with $210 reinstatement charge, possible fines up to $1,000 and 40 Hours of community service.  Possible 24 hour jail time depending on severity of actions.
·         Second Offense : 3 year suspension of license with $210 reinstatement charge, possible fines of $600-$1,000 dollars, 30 days community service, 3 day to 1 year jail time, alcohol treatment program and court ordered ignition interlock device.
·         Third Offense : 5 year license suspension with $210 reinstatement charge,  15 days to 1 year jail time, $1,000 to $5,000 fine, 30 days community service, news coverage and court mandated treatment program.
·         Fourth Offense : Felony charges as well as 1 – 5 year jail time, 60 days community service (minimum), $1,000 to $5,000 fine and court mandated treatment program.

The State of Georgia maintains a 10 year look back period for all offenses which is the period of time that DUI’s will impact sentencing in the case of a another offense.  For more information visit the Georgia office of Highway Safety. http://www.gohs.state.ga.us/duilaws.html

If you are charged with a DUI James B. Head Law can help.  We’re experienced in DUI defense and have been serving local Carrollton GA residents and students at the University of West Georgia with the defense they need to continue on their life.  Contact us today for a free consultation.
©2019 James B. Head, Attorney at Law
310 B Newnan Street
Carrollton, GA 30117
Phone: 770-838-7829
Fax: 770-838-1337
Email: admin@jbheadlaw.com
Website By Full Media (CS)